28 Replies Latest reply on 13-Jul-2018 4:11 PM by cmoo16

Module 4 Discussion

teachontario.team

Unplugged activities not only get students off devices, they tend to get them up and moving. As an intermediate teacher, my Data Management curriculum has us exploring mean, median, mode and a variety of graphs. Have you ever wondered how spreadsheets sort data when you click a column heading? Here are a variety of sorting algorithms used by computer programmers. After assigning students random numbers, you can easily implement “The Human Bubble Sort” into any math, drama or even dance activity! This one is a personal favourite with over a million views! You can watch it in the video above, in the right panel of the page.

What did you like about this experience? How would you modify or use this experience for learners in the classroom? How can it be used to stimulate and engage learners across the curriculum? Post your thoughts in the thread below.

• Re: Module 4 Discussion
          mattlet2002

Looking at Module 4, I see coding less as a separate discipline and more as a reflection of things that we teach in the classroom each day.  The Boolean Algebra is very similar to the Boolean Search that happens in many libraries as we teach students to refine their Google Searches  or find resources in the Library Catalogue.  The "And Or Not" components are key parts of a search.  The visual demonstration in the Bubble Sort goes back to basic teach of math where we start with the hands on learning, move to visuals and then the abstract.  For some reason, we reach a Grade Level where we stop doing these steps even though we continue to teach new Math concepts.  I took some time exploring CSUnplugged and the printables were great.  Once again, things that we already do in the classroom have coding connections.  The binary numbers remind me of the paper plates with dots on them to teach Kindergarten students subitizing and number sense.